Temecula First-Time DUI Attorney
Serving Clients in Temecula & Murrieta, California
After you have been arrested for suspicion of driving under the influence (DUI) in California, the time to take action and start defending your driving privilege and your freedom is immediate. In many cases, you will only have 10 days to contest the automatic suspension of your license. For people without any prior DUI convictions, or any criminal record at all, they cannot expect any leniency. California legislation can exacting steep punishments on those found guilty of this criminal violation.
The answer to your legal troubles could be Camarata Law. Our Temecula and Murrieta criminal defense attorney has years of experience, a flawless 10.0 “Superb” Avvo rating, and an extensive background in defending clients against DUI charges. Contact us today to put a team with a proven track record in your corner.
Penalties for California First-Time DUI Charges
A first-time DUI arrest that did not include any other criminal violations or bodily injury to another motorist will be considered a misdemeanor. While this might sound like something that is not a serious problem, it must be addressed readily.
If you are convicted for a DUI with a clean driving record, you could be penalized with:
$390 fine with $1,000 more in court costs
Approximately another $400 in DUI-related costs
48-hour jail sentence
4- to 5-month license suspension
30-day to 90-day restricted license upon license reinstatement
3-month alcohol/driver safety program with $500 fee
The aforementioned penalties are at the lower end of the punishment spectrum you could be facing. If your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level was considerably high, something that can be up to a judge’s discretion, the minimum fines could be more than doubled. In any situation, you may also be forced to have an ignition interlock device (IID) installed in your vehicle for six months; you will be taxed for each month you have an IID, usually equaling another $800 paid out to the state.
California’s DUI Lookback Period
In addition to putting you in jail, inhibiting your freedom of mobility, and gouging your pocketbook, a first-time DUI conviction puts a mark on your driving and criminal record. You can expect that your insurance premiums will be escalated as long as the conviction is active on your record. In California, the lookback period for DUIs, or how long it is considered active, is 10 years. If you are convicted of another DUI during that lookback period, the penalties will be severe.
Bring a Former Prosecutor to Your Defense
When faced with a DUI charge and conviction, the smartest decision may be to hire a defense attorney as soon as you can. DUI court proceedings are usually fairly quick compared to other criminal violations, and the state might not have anticipated that you will be represented by a lawyer. If your attorney is a former prosecutor who knows how the prosecution and their witnesses – most likely the police officer that arrested you – think, you will be even better off.
Get a free consolation with our former-prosecutor turned Temecula and Murrieta DUI lawyer.